What are the British Business Awards?

The British Business Awards 2016 are being hosted by the British Chamber of Commerce Shanghai, where the winners of eight awards will be announced at a gala awards dinner on 10 November, in Shanghai.

The British Business Awards recognise and promote excellence in innovation, enterprise and endeavour in the British and Chinese business communities.

Consisting of eight categories, they highlight organisations and individuals from a variety of disciplines who are achieving outstanding results and who demonstrate commitment to trade and investment in China. They also recognise the accomplishments of Chinese businesses operating in the UK and of British and Chinese graduates of UK universities.

The British Business Awards have grown in stature since the inaugural edition in 2008 to become a prestigious feature of the business calendar in China. The patron of the 2016 Awards is the British Ambassador, Barbara Woodward, and the gala dinner awards ceremony regularly attracts close to 350 eminent guests from Chinese and British business, government and mainstream media.

The awards is supported by the British Consulate General Shanghai, The British Chamber of Commerce in China, British Chamber of Commerce Guangdong, The British Chamber of Commerce in Hong Kong, The British Chamber of Commerce Southwest China, British Council, CBI, CBBC, City of London, Manchester China Forum and Visit Britain.

↑ back to top

What are the Award Categories?

There are eight award categories:

  • British Company of the Year Award
  • Chinese Investor of the Year Award
  • Education Institutional Partnership of the Year Award
  • New Business Award
  • Best Services Award
  • Sustainable Business Award
  • Creative Industry Award
  • Innovation Award

↑ back to top

Who can enter?

To enter the British Business Awards, you have to be:

  1. A British-owned company or organisation operating in mainland China.
  2. A company or organisation operating in mainland China that no matter whether in reality or apparently British-owned, the general public and/or business community would perceived as being ‘British’.

If in doubt with regards to the eligibility of your company, please contact cher.lee@britishchambershanghai.org

To enter the Chinese Investor of the Year Award, you have to:

Be a Chinese company headquartered in mainland China operating in the UK.

To enter the Education Institutional Partnership of the Year Award you have to:

  1. Eligibility is restricted to those UK institutions who are listed  on the UKVI Register of Licensed Sponsors (Tier 4).

*Nominations must be endorsed by the Vice-Chancellor of the institution.

↑ back to top

How can I enter the Awards?

The British Business Awards will accept online entries only. You may apply online as soon as entries open on 14 April 2016.

Once applications are open, click on the Enter the Awards button on our website, select the categories you wish to enter and complete the online application form.

The closing date for submissions is 28 July 2016.

↑ back to top

Can I enter more than one Award category?

Yes. Each entry must be made separately by an authorised person.

↑ back to top

Can I enter more than one project, product or service for a single award?

Yes. Each entry must be made separately by an authorised person.

↑ back to top

I/our organisation entered last year; can we enter this year?

Yes. There is no limitation on the number of years in which an individual or organisation is entered for an award.

↑ back to top

What is the selection process?

After entries close, entries will be reviewed by a separate judging panel in each of the eight award categories, who will select shortlists of five entrants per category by 18 August 2016.

Finalists will then be invited to attend an interview with their respective judging panel in September and the judging panels will determine an overall winner in each award category and put this to the overall advisory panel for approval.

The winners will be revealed at the gala awards dinner in Shanghai on 10 November 2016.

↑ back to top

How many judges are there?

For each awards category there is a panel of five judges, including one lead judge.

↑ back to top

Who are the judges?

The judging panels are composed of prominent members of British and Chinese industry and government. The judging panels can be viewed here.

↑ back to top

What is the judging process?

Click here to see details of the awards process.

↑ back to top

How will I know if my entry was submitted successfully?

You will receive an automated note generated by our online system.

↑ back to top

How will I know if I have been chosen as a finalist?

Finalists for each award category will be contacted individually and announced on the British Business Awards website.

The organisers will only inform those organisations and individuals that have been selected to progress to the second judging stage. The entrant’s designated contact will be formally notified by email after the announcement.

↑ back to top

When will the winners be announced?

The winners will be announced at the gala dinner awards ceremony, which will take place on 10 November 2016.

To ensure the integrity of the Awards, no details of any winners will be available to the public, including the media, before the gala dinner.

↑ back to top

* The details in this document are correct at the time of going to press and subject to change.
* The judges’ decisions are final.
* The British Business Awards Committee reserves the right to alter the rules of the competition at any time.

Screen Shot 2016-05-24 at 11.47.33 AM
Screen Shot 2016-07-25 at 12.04.34 PM
Screen Shot 2016-05-24 at 2.46.10 PM

Award Category Sponsors

Awards Categories
Best New Exporter to China Award
Best Services Award
British Company of the Year Award
Chinese Investor of the Year Award
Education Institutional Partnership of the Year Award
Innovation Award
New Business Award
Sustainable Business Award

Supported By